## **SNOW 2016 Chairs' Welcome**

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the *Third Workshop on Social News on the Web – SNOW 2016 –* held in conjunction with the *WWW 2016* conference on April 12<sup>th</sup> 2016 in Montreal, Canada.

In recent years, the topics addressed by *SNOW* have become very popular among diverse scientific communities. Computer scientists have studied how information spreads and diffuses in social networks. Journalists, social scientists, and economists are typical professionals who can improve their respective fields and practice by adopting technologies of interest to *SNOW*. In addition, there are emerging regulatory and legal issues that are of interest to law researchers and practitioners. The workshop aims to provide a forum to foster communication between these communities. In particular, the workshop has attracted a number of high-quality submissions on the relationships between online news and social media.

With this workshop we aim at continuing a tradition of interdisciplinary exchange and cross-domain fertilization among different research communities. The goal of the workshop is to share novel ideas and to discuss future directions in the emerging areas of *news search*, *news mining*, *news verification*, and *news recommendation*. It especially focuses on the interplay between *news content*, generated by professional journalists, and *social media content*, generated by millions of users in real time and subject to social media dynamics. We also welcome investigations on the topics of citizen journalism and computational journalism. SNOW aspires to give researchers and practitioners a unique opportunity to share their perspectives with others interested in news and social media.

The call for papers attracted 11 submissions from Asia, America, and Europe. The program committee accepted 6 papers that cover a variety of topics, including news credibility and verification, robot journalism, news consumption and social sharing, and news production on social media. The major criterion for the selection of papers was their potential to generate discussion and influence future research directions. The program also includes four keynote talks from distinguished experts in the field, with themes ranging from event understanding and narration to tracking misinformation, from curation of online news comments to the role of journalism on social media.

We hope you will find this program interesting and thought provoking, and that the workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world.

Putting together SNOW 2016 was a collaborative effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee, who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing feedback for authors in a timely manner. Finally, we thank the organizers of the WWW 2016 conference for giving us the opportunity to run this workshop.



### Gianmarco De Francisci Morales

SNOW 2016 General Chair QCRI, Doha, Qatar

## **Symeon Papadopoulos**

SNOW 2016 General Chair CERTH-ITI, Thessaloniki, Greece

#### Luca Maria Aiello

SNOW 2016 General Chair Yahoo Labs, London, UK

#### **Haewoon Kwak**

SNOW 2016 General Chair QCRI, Doha, Qatar

# **SNOW 2016 Organization**

**Chairs:** Gianmarco De Francisci Morales (QCRI, Qatar)

Luca Maria Aiello (Yahoo Labs, UK)

Symeon Papadopoulos (CERTH-ITI, Greece)

Haewoon Kwak (QCRI, Qatar)

Program Committee: Sofiane Abbar

Jisun An Ilaria Bordino

Giovanni Luca Ciampaglia

David Corney Suman Deb Roy Leon Derczynski Emilio Ferrara Kiran Garimella Aristides Gionis

Przemyslaw Grabowicz

Claudia Hauff

Andreas Kaltenbrunner

Jaap Kamps Nattiya Kanhabua Jussi Karlgren

Konstantinos Konstantinidis

Jérôme Kunegis Janette Lehmann Pasquale Lops Claudio Lucchese Amin Mantrach

Michael Mathioudakis

Yelena Mejova Stuart E. Middleton Salvatore Orlando Panagiotis Papapetrou Ruggero G. Pensa

Luiz Pizzato
Georgios Rizos
Giancarlo Ruffo
Rossano Schifanella
Claudio Schifanella
Fabrizio Silvestri
Ralf Steinberger
Adam Tsakalidis
Ingmar Weber
Lexing Xie

Markos Zampoglou Arkaitz Zubiaga